Customer Reviews

Johnathan March 31 2016

Went out and took Jason’s “101” class the other day. I’ve spent a fair amount of time behind a rifle over the last 10 years trying to shoot groups off of the public shooting range bench, but I’ve never really had a chance to shoot at any kind of distance. After looking around a bit, it seemed like Jason’s instruction was a killer deal, and wasn’t as….helmet-wearing….as the other training options in the area. Jason was incredibly accommodating to work with my schedule, as well as the course content. I grabbed a buddy, and we hopped in the car. We started out on a whiteboard for a refresher on fundamentals: building a position, trigger control, Mils/MOA, wind reading and holds, trajectory, etc. From there, we started with a 100-yd zero, and jumped right into doping loads out to 800 on 2moa steel with Jason calling the wind. After that he started coaching us on reading mirage and holding vs dialing for wind. After that we got into dialing elevation plus holding for a further distance, building alternate positions for some more PRS-y time shooting, strong/weak side shooting, and some more wind. After time spent with Jason, I feel 100% more confident in my abilities as a shooter, and actually feel fairly solid on wind reading as well. It’s very clear that Jason has put in a lot of time and practice getting good at this stuff, and he teaches it really well. He’s incredibly knowledgeable, great to learn from, and fun to just talk shop with, too. Recommended 100%.

 


 

Steve Woods Feb. 23 2016

Whether you are an experienced long time shooter or a novice, Jason Garvey will make you much, much better.  My time hunting and shooting have been very limited until about 2012 when I decided I would really like to learn how to shoot long range.  Over the past several years I have taken several shooting classes, they were all run well with solid instructors.  But, I was one of a number of students.  Then I met Chad Hayworth, a man who is the best at reloading ammo.  Chad knew I wanted to get better and stop wasting so much ammo trying to hit the target, so he told me about Jason Garvey who taught a one on one shooting class.

Several weeks ago I called Jason and set up a time to take his class; bam, he had me shooting an 8”X 8” plate at 800 yards, wow.  Jason is what I would consider an elite teacher/instructor who loves to shoot and teach.  There are lots of people out there that can shoot, but the problem comes down to being able to teach someone else to shoot, and Jason is that person.  He is the best.

For starters, Jason is a guy you want to get to know and be friends with, you will instantly discover this.  He just has a way of making you feel at ease.  Being able to have a one on one class with Jason is so much better than a class of even two people, especially if you don’t know the other person, but more than likely those classes will be more than 5 other people you don’t know.

As many have written in the past, Jason begins with the chalk talk and expands from there.  He is able to answer all questions in a way that everyone can understand.  This is an all-day class and I got the impression that the only reason he didn’t go longer was the sun went down.  He is really there to make sure you are shooting dead on at 800 yds., and has answered all your questions.  I plan to go back for more education as I feel I have just scratched the surface of all Jason has to offer.  If Jason can take me, a 67 yr. old guy, who hasn’t shoot all that much and have me shooting that good, he is a miracle worker in the shooting world.  If you even think you would like to improve your shooting, call and set up a time and I promise you won’t be disappointed.  One thing, take a lunch.

 


 

Alex Feb. 26 2016

Had a great day shooting with Jason. He improved my technique and I learned more about my own equipment. Once you hit steel at 800 yards, the 500 yard shots are easy….never thought I would say that.

I look forward to going back and building on the lessons.

 


Tim Fitzgerald Jan. 29 2016

For anyone wanting to learn long range shooting techniques or simply improving your hunting accuracy I highly suggest you check out Jason’s training.

I took the first class about a year ago and learned the fundamentals of ballistics and techniques and Jason guided me all the way out to 800 yards! I had previously only shot my rifles out to 100 yards and he made it easy so don’t be intimidated as you will be the only one at the range with him for 1 on 1 training – just do it!

I took another class yesterday to hone my skills, learn positional shooting (sitting, kneeling, using multiple structures for rests) that we encounter while hunting and he had me consistently hitting targets from 200 to 500 yards. He also took me through multiple drills where he would call out a range from 200 to 800 and I had to shift and shoot using only the reticle. I hit more than I missed and my misses were due to my incorrect wind calls. It was awesome, educational and a heck of a lot of fun!

Again, don’t be intimidated if you’ve never done this, that’s the purpose, and Jason makes it easy for anyone to understand. Accomplished shooters will also learn a great deal and a great opportunity to get 1 on 1 coaching to watch your form and get immediate feedback on shots.

 


 

Derek Brock Aug. 24 2015

Just wanted to take a moment to write a quick review/thank you for Jason and the class he offers. I have no claim to being a good writer, so bear with me.

To begin, I was a bit skeptical of taking his class in the first place. Due to circumstances beyond my control, I am not the best shot in the world. I have the want to, and I am willing to learn, just suffice it to say I am hesitant to shoot around people I am not comfortable with, or that don’t know me well. Right off the bat, meeting Jason and just speaking with him I could tell that we would have no problems getting along, his positive attitude was apparent from the start. I was skeptical of my own abilities, and his claim that he would have me hitting that little bitty target at anything past 100 yards gave me a good chuckle. I was thinking “this guy is gonna be disappointed when he sees me shoot.” I was wrong. Completely.

The day started with some whiteboard time. Jason thoroughly explained every aspect of proper mechanics, ballistics, trajectory, reading wind and all things a basic shooter should know, in a manner that was simple and easy to understand. After scrambling my brain for a couple hours, we moved into the hands on portion. I am sure he could tell, but my first few shots were frustrating for me and I was already beginning to get down on myself, but Jason persisted we continue. To my disbelief and shock, over the next few hours Jason had me punching steel at 100 yd increments all the way out to 800 yards. After a couple rounds, I ran through every target with a first shot hit at almost every distance. I was pleasantly surprised. He managed to keep me from beating myself up when I did miss and would walk me through what went wrong and how to correct, all while remaining extremely professional and courteous.

In conclusion, I will say this: If he can take someone like me and build my confidence, don’t be skeptical about taking his course. He built my confidence and he proved to me that I am capable of something I previously thought I wasn’t. Jason is a hell of a guy, and I will say it again, Jason, thanks for your positive attitude and proving me wrong. It was a pleasure and I look forward to shooting with you again.

 


 

Andrew Stout Jul. 14 2015

I took Jason’s, shooting class today. I have good news and bad news…

The good news is, I had a blast and was ringing steel all day.
The bad news is, y’all are in big trouble for the THF Shooting Competition in August!

All joking aside, if I had one word to describe today it would be “fun”, I never thought I would shoot a target out to 800 yards. Even when Jason told me we would hit steel at 800 yards by lunch I doubted it. After walking it down range he was calling wind and I was ringing the plates.

If any of y’all have read previous reviews you know the drill, the class started at 8 am, Jason takes you through shooting form and scope alignment on a white board. Everything was very easy to understand, even though my brain wasn’t really working yet, I picked up what he was saying. Then I got behind the rifle, zeroed at 100 and off we went.

It took 10 rounds, maybe less for me to hit 800 yards and I was kind of shocked. I was really set up for success. I put together a 6.5 Creedmoor on a Savage action and I asked Jason a lot of questions about what to get. He definitely steered me in the right direction with scope, caliber, handload, and stock recommendations.

The best part about the whole class is how passionate Jason is about shooting. He really enjoys shooting and teaching people how to reach out to long ranges. That attitude definitely rubs off in a positive way. I can honestly say it made me want to hit targets that much more because of how excited he was when I held steady and made a good shot. He also has tons of knowledge, which many of you know, and he is always happy to answer questions. He probably has a story to go along with the answer.

If you have any doubts about taking the class I can promise you won’t regret taking it. I am a new shooter and I have looked around at rifle classes and I can say you will not find many classes in this price range and you definitely won’t find a 1on1 class for this price. If you are an experienced shooter, go on out there and humble yourself because shooting those 1 moa targets is hard!

Only regret I have is not bringing more ammo!

 


 

Tom June 28 2015

Furthest I’ve shot is 400 and knew I had some bad habits that I’ve picked up along the way. I’d read the reviews on the Texas Hunting Forum (THF) and knew I wanted some sort of training that’ll help me to get out there.

Went yesterday. Jason knows his stuff. He also does PRS type competitions so he tailored part of the instruction towards that as that is the route I want to go.

Basic whiteboard stuff to start. As my buddy was shooting Win factory ammo for the 6.5 Creedmoor and I was shooting hand loads that mimicked his own, there wasn’t really a need to chrono. He is set up to do so if you don’t know your speed. Next part was confirming dope out to 800 on 2 MOA steel plates.

Next we did 200-700 on 1 MOA plates (just confirmed dope) and adjusting for wind.

When we did that and confidence level is high, we zeroed out elevation and windage and did 200-700 1 MOA steel plates using reticle only. I have a PST with a 2C reticle. I did this with ease (almost too easy with this reticle). My buddy with a traditional mil reticle had greater difficulty past 500 because of his reticle.

I cannot speak enough good stuff about Jason and his class. We learned a lot and by the end of the day, our confidence in our equipment, ammo and ourselves as shooters was pretty high. I know I have lots more to learn and he is working up a syllabus for V2 of our training and my buddy and I will go again for more challenging stuff.

 


 

Bryan Perry Mar. 29 2015

I had the joy of attending the Precision Rifle Hunters Class this weekend instructed by Jason. I’ve shot guns and hunted all my life but, like most people, have never really had any real training or instruction. Most classes are either too far, too expensive, or a combination of both. So I was very excited at the possibility of learning without a ton of expense and travel. Needless to say, the class was worth every penny.

Couldn’t have asked for a prettier day. Cool in the morning, warmer in the afternoon. Sunny and a light wind. Got started about 9am and we jumped into the fundamentals right away. This is the part where you listen, absorb, and write down all the important points. Ask questions when needed. Have him repeat things or use different examples. He’ll work with you til you understand. This is not something you would get in most other classes. Think of it like private tutoring.

After the lesson, we setup equipment and checked out the targets. I had recently swapped scopes so we did a quick bore sight and shot a few at 100 to get zeroed. Then move on to 200 and 300yd targets right away. No time for 100yd shots!! Then comes the fun part. If you’re like me, chances are you haven’t shot much beyond 200-300yds because most gun ranges dont offer much further. You’ll shoot 400, 500, 600, 700, and finally 800. All with Jason calling wind for you. Struggled a little bit at 700 and 800 with wind but eventually figured it out. Break for lunch.

After lunch, did some more shooting 500yds and beyond. By then the wind had calmed quite a bit and targets were a little easier. He’ll work with you til you’re routinely dialing elevation, holding windage, and seeing your hits. Then you’ll get to try holding elevation & windage. My mount and scope ran out of elevation for 800yds for a .308 so it was a good real-life example of holding the remainder of elevation. All this was in the prone position. Then we moved over to shoot with different rests. First shoot in a crouched position off one knee like you’re sitting in a truck bed. Then shoot in a knee position. Then move up to standing position. All shooting between 200-300yds. You’ll shoot some dialed in, some holding over. You learn both ways. After that, we were done.

All in all, the class is top notch. Jason knows his stuff and is doing a service by teaching it. On top of that, Jason is a stand-up guy and you’ll enjoy your day. A few things I would advise when you attend:

1) Familiarize yourself and bring a sandbag to stabilize your rifle. Jason has a couple available for you to use, but I struggled a bit at first because I wasn’t used to a sandbag with my AR-10 stock. I really should have been more prepared. Your mileage my vary.

2) Consider MIL/MIL scope with FFP. It is stupid simple compared to SFP and MOA. You can hold elevation/windage or estimate range at any magnification. This is just my opinion, but I feel comfortable dialing my MIL/MIL scope now. My MOA/MOA scopes I feel like they will remain a set & forget, check zero once a year deal.

3) Bring a notepad for notes

4) Wear comfortable clothes. You’ll be in the prone position alot.

 


 

Chris Starks Jan. 4 2015

Met Jason for the first time yesterday at his place and found him very personable and easy to talk with…he sets you at ease right off the bat. We talked a bit about backgrounds, experiences, etc. then got into the “classroom” stuff for an hour or so. Jason has a very easy going style of teaching and is easy to understand. From there we got down to business….I had never shot prone before (I have significant shotgun experience but only bench experience with a rifle) and what he told me about alignment, trigger control, and especially follow through (definitely need more work there) made a great deal of sense. Once we got zeroed we were quickly able to move out to 200 thru 500 with him calling the wind, we were almost always on the target first shot and 1-2 more to center it. 600-700 went well also but we ran into trouble at 800, turns out my bag setup wasn’t allowing a steady enough horizontal hold and we peppered both edges of the target, once we changed to one of his bags I was able to put the next 4 on/near the center of the target. I highly recommend Jason to anyone that wants to learn more about reaching out to longer distances, shooting technique, etc.. Thanks again, Jason!

 


 

Tim Fitzgerald Dec. 30 2015

I had the opportunity to attend Jason’s class yesterday and it was simply an outstanding learning opportunity for me. We started off in a classroom setting on a white board where Jason went through nine principles of precision rifle shooting to ensure a proper foundation of knowledge and common communication before we even took my rifles out of the cases. He covered ballistics in very good detail and I thought I knew most of this (I hold a BS in Engineering Physics) but he took it to another level in very practical terms which has helped me gain a much higher level of understanding of what is going on down range with the projectile. Once we got the rifle out on his shooting platform Jason checked my scope alignment, which I had recently installed, and it turned out I had it canted despite all efforts with levels at my house. Jason fixed my scope alignment quickly and then bore sighted my rifle and the fun began getting me spot on at 100 with elevation and windage calls. He has tremendous knowledge of DOPE for 6.5 Creedmoor (my caliber), 260 Rem and 308 and the initial adjustments for each range out to 800 were spot on and he had me banging steel consistently out to 800 with his calls on wind all while he was checking and correcting my form, loading of the bipod and trigger pull. This was an awesome experience and I now have DOPE on this rifle and load (at this density altitude) along with the confidence to make these shots.

Don’t think Jason’s training is just for target rifles/scopes as all this easily translates to rifle hunting with normal hunting scopes and this will help me extend my personal maximum hunting range. I highly encourage others to take advantage of this one-on-one training as it is both fun and educational. I will take additional training to learn techniques and proper form for other shooting positions.

Thanks, Jason, for an outstanding experience!

 


 

Scott Nov. 14 2014

I went out and shot with Jason the other day. My 11 yo 85 lb son who had never shot a rifle before and I both were hitting 800 yd shots with a .308 by the end of the day! I learned a lot and had a good time too. Jason is easy to follow and my son felt comfortable with his teaching too. He was able to teach to a level that Will understood and that did not feel condescending to me. I would (and have been) recommend Jason to anyone who wants to understand the mechanics of long range shooting and to teach some old dogs new tricks! Thank you Jason!

 


 

Gary Bane Oct. 30 2014

Last week I went to the class in Wolfe City put on by Jason Garvey. This is a one on one school. Jason is very professional also along with his 800 yard range.
You start the day in a school room situation covering windage, safety, ballistic and general shooting at long range. Jason was your spotter calling every shot.
I was shooting my training rifle 223 using Federal Match Grade 69 grain. The wind was blowing 5-15 with a cross wind. I got out to 500 yards hitting the steel plate.
In summary if you want a one on one and a professional school contact Jason.
This school was on my bucket list. Now I want to shoot at a 1000 yards. I ordered a 6.5 Creedmoor yesterday.

 


 

Judd Lasiter Oct. 17 2014

I shoot benchrest stuff and recently bought a precision gun to shoot the practical precision matches. Jason and I got to talking and I expressed some interest in needing some help getting started. He said he could adjust his class for me and make it beneficial to give me a good foundation to work from.

First thing we did was to sure my DOPE up. I hadn’t shot the gun through my chrono but guessed on my speed. Needless to say, I over estimated the speed and Jason got my DOPE validated and corrected.

Then we moved to positional shooting and how to build a steady platform. He explained how to shoot of barricades and how to get my sling working for unsupported shooting.

Obviously, that was all about the shooting but the facilities he has built really is an awesome elevated platform to shoot off of and steel targets out to 800y. Plus, Jason knows his stuff and shares his wealth of information with you.

I would recommend taking a class from Jason should you have the opportunity. He will tailor the class to what you need and you will end the session knowing more than you started with…whether you are a seasoned rifleman or a new shooter.

Thanks Jason, I had a lot of fun and look forward to getting to shoot some matches here real soon.

 


 

Kyle Royal Sep. 17 2014

I had been out to his range once before when I shot the Hunters Challenge rifle competition. It is a very nice range with steel setup every 100 yards all the way out to 800 yards. When you first see it, it looks very daunting or at least it did to me. Didn’t think there was any way I’d be hitting the 800 yard steel. Hell before the class I had trouble hitting 300 yard steel.

Before you ever get behind your rifle there is about 1 hour depending on your skill level and how familiar you are with shooting. I’d say firearm wise I know my firearm in and out very well, however when it comes to shooting it past 300 yards I’m still a novice. Jason took this into account and sat me down and went over everything with me. He discussed the very basics of shooting position, how to load the bipod, how to get a proper sight picture, and how to check that you’re getting the same position every time making sure the rifle isn’t canted. I had some old habits that I needed to break, learning how to shoot from uncle buck might be ok for minute of animal most the time, however it doesn’t help you any when trying to shoot tiny little steel targets.

So after the “book lesson” I finally got to get behind my rifle. Since I’m shooting a AR in 308 with a short 16″ barrel we needed to chrono my ammo which was 168gr Amax bulk from Custom Reloads of Dallas. We got an average from 9 shots while confirming zero at 100 yards. I had a few flyers but we figured it was ammo so we continued on. After getting the FPS of the ammo Jason put it in his computer and we got a firing solution for the different ranges. On the first string Jason had me dial elevation, but hold wind. He was calling wind for me the whole time which was great. First shot at 200 yards ding steel baby!!! LOL Jason says I heard it ring, but I didn’t see the impact. I said what are you talking about its a center punch.. I thought we were shooting the big IPSC targets. He said no move to your left a little you see that tiny piece of steel that’s what we’re shooting for. I felt like an idiot and damn that piece of steel was tiny compared to that silhouette target. We moved on and after the 200 yard target I began having problems getting on target. My hits were flying all around the target and I didn’t know why. I asked Jason to get behind the rifle just to make sure it wasn’t the rifle or ammo. He jumped over and I spotted for him, he shot a couple of rounds at 100 to confirm zero again and at first it was shooting a little weird, but he finally started to get it to group and then went all the way out on the steel pinging one after another. I think that really helped me because now I know if I missed it was because of me and me alone. It wasn’t the gun and it wasn’t the ammo. I really think it was because I cleaned my gun the day before and it needed to be fouled up again. At least that is what I’m blaming it on.

I got settled back behind the rifle and kept everything he taught me before hand in mind. I would catch myself not doing some things he told me and I could tell as soon as I pulled the trigger what I had done. Whether it was not following through with the trigger or checking my cant with my bubble level or not shooting on my exhale and holding my breath instead. Had you told me any of these things would have thrown off my shot that much before the class I wouldn’t have believed you.

I started pinging steel like it was nothing all the way out to 600. I had some issues with this target the most because of the marriage. I shoot a SWFA SS 12X fixed so I couldn’t back off the magnification any to get it to clear up so I just had to try and shoot it. I think that target is the one that gave me the most problems all day. I moved on and hit the 700 target no problem and then on to the 800. I missed my first try due to wind, but after a quick correction with Jason calling it out to me I busted the 800 yard steel 3 times in a row pretty quickly since I’m shooting a semi-auto.

I think at this point we broke for lunch and I was thinking well this is awesome, but I guess the class was over… Not even close!!!

Came back from lunch and Jason asked if I was ready for the fun part. I said sure what are we doing now. He said we’re going to do the same thing except we’re going to dial wind and hold elevation this time. I thought to myself ahh this can’t be that hard I just did it in reverse how hard could it be? Well let me tell you dialing elevation is a ton easier or at least it is for me. Jason would call out the wind for me and I’d dial it on my scope. Get a sight picture and he’d call out the mil hold for elevation. Just when I thought I was ready to let it fly Jason could call out a wind correction and throw me completely off. I find it much easier that the one you’re dialing on the scope is better when it doesn’t change LOL. So I stumbled through this string all the way down to 800 and lets just say I probably shot double the ammo on that string as I did on the first string.

Thinking I was done I gave my gun a rest, drank some Gatorade waiting to see what was next. Jason says with a laugh now are you ready to do hold both.. I’m sure I looked at him with a WTF look on my face, but agreed. I actually found this one easier than dialing the wind, of course I probably wouldn’t have found it very easy had I not had Jason calling out wind everytime it changed.

Think you’re done??? Not a chance..

Next up Jason has this contraption that looks like some stairs. Goes from 1 foot off the ground all the way to 4 foot off the ground. It also has the diamond shaped window cut out. You start out shooting from the 1ft step which is very hard to build a position it is just far enough off the ground you can’t go prone, but just close enough to the ground you can’t sit… Jason let me use some of his shooting bags and showed me different positions I could use them and then told me to do whatever was comfortable to me. I found that to be awesome normally when you’re taking a class the instructor wants you to do exactly as they do, not Jason. He understands everyone is different. I actually got into this weird, what felt like to me, pretzel position and fired off ding steel. I finally got to shoot the IPSC target on purpose  .. He said now move to the 300 yard IPSC target. He gave me my dope for the 300 and I dialed it in bang ding steel… He said ok now move up a step, build your position and shoot the 2 targets again. Built my position bang nothing.. Bang nothing.. WTH.. Forgot to put my dope back to 200. Dialed my dope back and bang ding steel.. Did the exact same thing on the next step. Finally I realized it was better to dial in the 200 yard dope and then just hold 300 yard dope. Much faster and got hits almost on every shot. Went through the entire string of fire putting one round on each target on each step, then one on each target through the diamond window. Jason asked me to run through it one more time as fast I could and he timed me, I think my time was 2 minutes and 30 seconds with the most time being used to take a bag off my rifle to get it through the diamond window.. He said this one will be one of the stages in the next competition so watch out guys. I really enjoyed this drill I feel like I did better on it than I did on the long range stuff. Maybe it was because I felt like I was under pressure I always seem to do better under pressure than I do when I have all the time in the world.

Next was shooting off hand which is my nemesis. He first had me shoot from the sitting position then knelling position. Once I got all pretzelted up in the sitting position I hit the targets pretty easy after I used the principles that Jason taught me about where to make contact with my elbows and knees building a solid position to the ground. Knelling the same thing with the contact points. Now my real nemesis, standing off hand.. The 200 yard steel wasn’t much of a problem, but the 300 yard gave me real problems. After shooting all day I was already kind of fatigued, but this zapped the very last energy out of me. Having a heavy suppressor hanging off the end of my rifle didn’t really help matters either. I don’t think I actually hit the 300 yard target standing off hand. I was just too gassed.

After we finished that I wanted to let my rifle and myself rest a bit. We got out my 10.5″ SBR with Aimpoint T1 on it. Wanted to see if we could bang some steel out to 300. Very surprised by that, I think even Jason was surprised. We both shot the gun out to 300 just holding a little high and wind and we banged the steel almost every single round. Hell I’m thinking about using it for the next hunter challenge HAHA.
Over all I feel I learned a ton of stuff to help be a better shooter. Learning how to read the mirage, wind, making sure my cant is trued up every single time, making sure my spine is strait behind the gun just everything that Jason teaches you I can’t even think of it all to list right now. Going in I figured it was going to be a class where Jason gives you hints to how to shoot and gets you out to banging steel at 800 yards and that’s the end of it. I can tell you it is so much more. I left knowing that I feel comfortable taking a 800 yard shot on a pig, I wouldn’t do it on a deer, but a hog or yote I’d like to try it out. Jason said pretty much every shot I fired would have been a kill shot on an animal, but that isn’t what he is looking for. He is looking to ring those tiny little steel targets. It is for sure worth the money and I’m very glad I finally got around to taking the class. Just one day with Jason and I’ve probably corrected 90% of my bad habits YMMV.